A (very) short story about accents and intelligence

 

“Katie has started copying Fatima’s accent.”

“Oh my goodness, that is not a very good idea. Not at all.”

“How can Katie be copying Fatima’s accent? What is Fatima’s accent anyway?”

“I don’t know. I’m not that smart. If I were any smarter, I wouldn’t be working in construction.”

“Oh, don’t say that! It’s so stupid when people say that they aren’t smart. It really doesn’t matter.”

“Oh of course I know that I’m smart. I’m VERY smart.”

And then there was only laughter.

Leave a Reply

