Poetry attempts inspired by Rupi Kaur’s “Milk and Honey”

For my nineteenth birthday about a month ago, I was lucky enough to be gifted two copies of Rupi Kaur’s “Milk and Honey”. (Note to self: you may have hinted to too many people about that gift.)

When I accidentally came across Rupi’s work on Instagram, my attitude towards poetry changed completely. Suddenly , I realised that poetry did not necessarily have to be something written several centuries ago in a language that cannot be understood by a mere mortal like me; poetry could be simple and relevant, and it is precisely this that makes it so beautiful.

I read through the book in about an hour (while taking a short study break to eat some lunch), and by the end of the day, I already had an idea for a short poem. And then another. And then another.

I quickly jotted down the ideas down on my phone, as I usually do (because I have the memory of a goldfish). A few weeks have now passed and the urge to delete those notes isn’t too overwhelming, which has led me to decide to share a few with you.

I hope you enjoy reading them and I would love to hear your thoughts in the comments below 🙂

IMG_3075

IMG_3074

Processed with VSCOcam with a6 preset
Processed with VSCOcam with a6 preset

IMG_3072

IMG_3059

IMG_3060

IMG_3062

4 thoughts on “Poetry attempts inspired by Rupi Kaur’s “Milk and Honey””

Leave a Reply

