How It All Began

You could say that it all began with the journal I bought for myself when I graduated from high school, thus intending to document my first year as somewhat of an adult. Or maybe it began when my mum read a newspaper article about a ten-year-old girl, who was a published author, and I decided that I too could write book, even though I was only in the second grade and had learnt nowhere near enough grammar to write something even vaguely coherent.

All I know is that writing is something that brings me joy and gives me a sense of purpose. I’ve tried writing a food blog. Three times in fact. I thought that in order to be “successful” in the blogosphere I had to have a strictly defined focus.

That was nearly three years ago. (Okay, I’m stretching the truth here a bit – it has actually been 2 years, 3 months and 26 days.) Much has changed since then. I could write many a word not this, but to what end?

Instead, let’s focus on right now.

Right now the sun is shining and Melbourne keeps on surprising us with 25 degrees in the middle of what is supposed to be autumn.

Right now I have been a legal adult for 11 months and 12 days.

Right now I am trying to get my head around how to survive my first semester of Bachelor of Biomedical Science.

Right now I am working part-time as a tutor and dreaming of going on an exchange to Europe.

Right now is the beginning of something new and for once that excites me.

Thank you for reading my first blog post! I would love to hear your thoughts on anything that I write about – after all why else would I publish my writing online, if not for the hope of someone reading it? 🙂 I look forward to hearing from you in the comments below or on berta.karaim@gmail.com! 😉

Leave a Reply

